Concussion or Paranoia?

So here’s the deal, I am having trouble diagnosing myself, but before I start let me tell you what really happened first:

I was on my way to work and had to ride a jeepney. I always preferred to sit in the front seat. Luckily, there was one available, the other seat next to the driver was already occupied by a lady who’s wearing an office uniform (you know, that typical skirt and nylon blouse with collar), so I sat right next to her, just beside the door. After passing the underpass, the jeepney stopped and the lady looked at me.. I was wearing an earphone so I couldn’t really tell if she was talking to me.. So I removed the ear piece and asked her. “Is this your stop Miss?” She nodded and I gave way, I went out and waited for her to come out. While she was coming out, I was contemplating if I should just walk or go back to the jeepney. (If I walk it would just take me 5 minutes to the bus stop, if I go back to jeepney it would be 10 minutes, since the jeepney has to turn a round) but since we are in a tropical country and that time it was really hot, I decided to just go back to the jeepney and waited to be dropped off. As I was about to get in, I didn’t realize that the opening was just small and I am a tall girl (for a Filipina at least), because of that, I accidentally hit my head to the jeepney’s metal door jamb.. It was really hard, that I think the whole jeepney shook because of me. I just ignored it because I could have sworn that all of the passengers’ eyes were on me, I had no choice but to pretend it didn’t hurt. But deep inside, I was really screaming..

In the bus, I touched my head and I found out that, that part I hit was swollen and painful, but I didn’t feel anything at all. Having a bump seemed like a good sign, so I just decided to completely ignore it and pretend that it didn’t happen, since it was not bothering me at all.

And today, a day after, the bump is completely gone, but the pain is still there.. Not stronger than yesterday but I can still feel it. But what really worries me is that, I am now starting get headache and dizzyness. I’m not really a hospital lover but I don’t want to ignore it if it’s serious. So I started googling it and a lot of entried appeared, most of them suggested that it might be a concussion, and that I should observe my self for few more days if more symptoms appeared, if it does, I should go to hospital and have myself checked.

So far, I only feel headache/dizzyness, no nausea my pupils looked normal, my orientation seemed fine, everything looked okay.

But I am not sure if this is really a head ache or this is just in my head (no pun intended). That’s why I couldn’t really tell if it is a concussion or just me being paranoid.

I’ll try to observe myself more and I will surely post any updates here in my blog.

.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a comment